The short answer
- Rocket Money's core app is free and its Premium tier is "pay what you think is fair", typically $7 to $14 a month at the time of writing. It is only available to users in the United States with US banks, and it finds subscriptions by reading accounts you link.
- If you want automatic detection from your bank feed: Monarch, Copilot Money and PocketGuard in the US; Emma in the UK.
- If you only need to cancel app-store subscriptions: the Apple and Google Play subscription pages are free and already on your phone.
- If you'd rather not link your bank at all: a spreadsheet with calendar alerts, or Binome360, which keeps your list and reminds you before each renewal but can't detect subscriptions for you.
- Before you leave Rocket Money, export your transactions as a CSV: it's the easiest way to rebuild your subscription list anywhere else.
Why people look for a Rocket Money alternative
Rocket Money does three different jobs: it spots recurring charges in your linked accounts, it tracks your budget, and on Premium it will try to cancel subscriptions for you. People who look elsewhere usually hit one of these points, all taken from Rocket Money's own help centre and pricing pages (checked 25 September 2026):
- Country. Rocket Money states that it is "only available to users located within the United States and with U.S. based banks". If you live in the UK, Canada or anywhere else, you need something else.
- Bank linking. Detection depends on linking your checking, savings and card accounts through Plaid. Some people don't want a third party reading their accounts.
- Price. The free tier covers subscription tracking, budgeting and bill reminders. The cancellation service needs Premium ($7 to $14 a month on its sliding scale, or $84 to $168 a year). Premium+ is listed at $15 a month. Bill negotiation, if you use it, costs 35% to 60% of the first year's savings unless you're on Premium+.
- Cancellation limits. Even on Premium, Rocket Money says subscriptions billed through Apple, Google Play, Amazon, Roku and PayPal have to be cancelled directly with those platforms.
None of this makes it a bad choice. It means the right alternative depends on which of these points brought you here.
What to check before you switch
| Criterion | Question to ask | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Country and banks | Does the app support banks where you live? | Most detection apps are built for one or two countries |
| Detection or list | Does it find subscriptions from your bank feed, or do you add them yourself? | Detection saves typing; a manual list works with cash, mobile money and any bank |
| Cancelling | Does it cancel for you, or show you how? | Very few apps cancel on your behalf, and none can cancel app-store billing |
| Renewal alerts | Will it warn you before an annual renewal or a trial end? | That warning is where the savings actually come from |
| Real yearly cost | Monthly price × 12, against the annual plan | Monthly plans often cost far more over a year |
| Data export | Can you get your data out as a CSV? | Your next switch will be easier |
Country and banks
Question to askDoes the app support banks where you live?
Why it mattersMost detection apps are built for one or two countries
Detection or list
Question to askDoes it find subscriptions from your bank feed, or do you add them yourself?
Why it mattersDetection saves typing; a manual list works with cash, mobile money and any bank
Cancelling
Question to askDoes it cancel for you, or show you how?
Why it mattersVery few apps cancel on your behalf, and none can cancel app-store billing
Renewal alerts
Question to askWill it warn you before an annual renewal or a trial end?
Why it mattersThat warning is where the savings actually come from
Real yearly cost
Question to askMonthly price × 12, against the annual plan
Why it mattersMonthly plans often cost far more over a year
Data export
Question to askCan you get your data out as a CSV?
Why it mattersYour next switch will be easier
Our guide to choosing a budgeting app compares full budgeting apps on more criteria. This page focuses on one job: knowing what renews, and stopping what you don't want.
If you want automatic detection from your bank (US)
Monarch. Monarch's recurring calendar tracks subscriptions, bills, transfers and paychecks, and it scans newly synced transactions for new recurring items. You can also add a recurring merchant by hand. Price at the time of writing: $14.99 a month or $99.99 a year for the Core plan, with a 7-day free trial. It works in the United States and Canada, billed in US dollars.
Copilot Money. Copilot detects likely recurring transactions during setup and shows rent, bills and subscriptions in a monthly view. It is listed at $95 a year (monthly billing is also offered) with a one-month free trial. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac and the web; its FAQ says it only supports US-based financial institutions and lists no Android app.
PocketGuard. Its App Store listing says bills and subscriptions are "identified automatically" once you connect your bank, and it offers help negotiating rates with providers. PocketGuard Plus is $12.99 a month or $74.99 a year on the US App Store. It connects to US and Canadian institutions only.
If you live in the UK
Emma. Emma presents subscription tracking as a core feature: bills and subscriptions in one place, price-hike alerts, and cancelling what you don't need "in a few taps". The base app is free. Paid plans at the time of writing: Emma Plus £4.99 a month or £41.99 a year, Emma Pro £9.99 a month or £83.99 a year, Emma Ultimate £14.99 a month or £124.99 a year. Check which plan includes the features you want before paying.
UK readers also get stronger legal protection soon: new subscription rules with renewal reminders and easier exits are due in January 2027. Our guide to cancelling subscriptions and contracts covers the law in both countries.
If most of your subscriptions are billed by Apple or Google
Many subscriptions never appear under the service's own name on your statement, because the App Store or Google Play bills them. For these, the free built-in pages are often the fastest route:
- iPhone: Settings, tap your name, then Subscriptions, choose the subscription and tap Cancel Subscription.
- Android: open Google Play, go to your subscriptions, choose one and tap Cancel subscription. Google warns that uninstalling an app does not cancel its subscription.
These pages show everything billed through that store, and nothing else. Your gym, your broadband and your streaming service paid by card won't be there.
If you don't want to link your bank at all
A spreadsheet and your calendar. List each subscription with its price, billing cycle and next renewal date, then add a calendar alert a week before each annual renewal. It's free and private. The drawback is that nothing reminds you to update the sheet.
Binome360. Binome360 is a personal assistant app where you type or say what you pay for and it prepares the record; nothing is saved until you confirm. For subscriptions, that means:
- each subscription logged as a recurring expense, so you see a monthly total per currency;
- a reminder before each renewal or trial end, created in one sentence;
- a note of account numbers or policy references you'll need to cancel.
Its limits, plainly: Binome360 doesn't connect to bank accounts, so it can't detect subscriptions automatically, and it doesn't cancel anything or move money. You find the charges on your statements; it keeps the list and speaks up before each renewal. It works in English and French, on Android, on iPhone as a web app installed from Safari, and in any browser. After a 7-day free trial it costs $3.99 a month, $8.99 for 3 months or $23.99 a year on the web.
Add my subscriptions: cloud storage $2.99 a month, news app $4.99 a month, and design software $99.99 a year renewing on 14 March. Remind me a week before the renewal.
Here's what I'll save: two monthly recurring expenses ($2.99 and $4.99) and one yearly expense of $99.99. Your monthly subscriptions come to $7.98. Plus a reminder on 7 March: "Design software renews 14 March, keep or cancel?" Save it?
Nothing is saved until you confirm.
Try Binome360 for freeComparing the yearly cost
Here's what each option costs over a year at the time of writing (checked 25 September 2026), for the plan most people would use to track subscriptions:
| Option | Yearly cost | Detects from bank | Cancels for you | Where it works |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rocket Money (Premium) | $84 to $168 (sliding scale) | Yes | Some subscriptions | US only |
| Monarch | $99.99 (annual) or $179.88 (12 × $14.99) | Yes | Not stated | US, Canada |
| Copilot Money | $95 (annual) | Yes | Not stated | US |
| PocketGuard Plus | $74.99 (annual) or $155.88 (12 × $12.99) | Yes | No, negotiation help | US, Canada |
| Emma Pro | £83.99 (annual) | Yes | You cancel in the app | UK |
| Apple / Google Play pages | Free | Store billing only | You cancel there | Everywhere |
| Binome360 | $23.99 (annual) or $47.88 (12 × $3.99) | No | No | Worldwide, EN and FR |
Rocket Money (Premium)
Yearly cost$84 to $168 (sliding scale)
Detects from bankYes
Cancels for youSome subscriptions
Where it worksUS only
Monarch
Yearly cost$99.99 (annual) or $179.88 (12 × $14.99)
Detects from bankYes
Cancels for youNot stated
Where it worksUS, Canada
Copilot Money
Yearly cost$95 (annual)
Detects from bankYes
Cancels for youNot stated
Where it worksUS
PocketGuard Plus
Yearly cost$74.99 (annual) or $155.88 (12 × $12.99)
Detects from bankYes
Cancels for youNo, negotiation help
Where it worksUS, Canada
Emma Pro
Yearly cost£83.99 (annual)
Detects from bankYes
Cancels for youYou cancel in the app
Where it worksUK
Apple / Google Play pages
Yearly costFree
Detects from bankStore billing only
Cancels for youYou cancel there
Where it worksEverywhere
Binome360
Yearly cost$23.99 (annual) or $47.88 (12 × $3.99)
Detects from bankNo
Cancels for youNo
Where it worksWorldwide, EN and FR
"Not stated" means we didn't find it on the company's own pages; it isn't a claim that the feature doesn't exist.
If you're leaving Monarch instead
The same logic applies if you're looking for a Monarch Money alternative. Monarch is a full budgeting and net-worth app, so ask what you'll miss:
- You mainly want subscription tracking: Rocket Money's free tier covers subscription tracking in the US, and the Apple and Google pages cover store billing.
- You want sync but a lower yearly price: PocketGuard Plus and Copilot Money cost less per year at the time of writing; both are limited to North American (PocketGuard) or US (Copilot) institutions.
- You live outside North America, or want to log cash and mobile money: a manual-entry app such as Binome360 fits better. Our budgeting app comparison covers YNAB, Goodbudget and EveryDollar too.
Monarch lets you download your transaction history before you go, and it imports CSV files on the web (one file per account), which helps if you're moving the other way.
How to switch without losing your list
- 1ExportOn the web, go to Transactions and choose Export; in the app, open Transactions, tap the menu and choose CSV Download. The file arrives by email and opens on a computer.
- 2FilterOpen the CSV and keep 12 months, so annual renewals show up. Sort by merchant to spot repeats.
- 3DecideMark each subscription keep, cancel or downgrade. Cancel the "cancel" pile directly with each company and save the confirmation.
- 4RebuildImport the CSV into your new app if it accepts one (Monarch does, on the web), or add the ones you kept by hand.
- 5RemindSet a reminder a week before every annual renewal and trial end.
To end Rocket Money Premium itself, the help centre says to move the price slider to $0 and tap Cancel Subscription; access continues to the end of the billing cycle.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a free alternative to Rocket Money?
Yes, depending on the job. The Apple and Google Play subscription pages are free for anything billed through the stores, and a spreadsheet with calendar alerts costs nothing. Emma's base app is free in the UK, and Rocket Money's own free tier includes subscription tracking.
Which subscription tracker works outside the US?
Rocket Money, Copilot Money and PocketGuard are limited to US (or US and Canadian) institutions. In the UK, Emma is built for UK banks. Anywhere else, a manual list works: Binome360 keeps it in any currency, without a bank connection.
Can an app cancel my subscriptions for me?
Some can try: Rocket Money Premium has a cancellation service for certain subscriptions. No app can cancel Apple or Google Play billing for you; you do that from your phone's settings.
Is it safe to link my bank to a subscription tracker?
That's a personal judgement. Read the app's privacy policy, check which data aggregator it uses, and in the UK check the firm on the FCA register. If you'd rather not link, use a manual list.
In short
If you want automatic detection, choose an app built for banks in your country: Monarch, Copilot or PocketGuard in North America, Emma in the UK. If you'd rather keep your bank private, a manual list with renewal reminders does the essential job, in a spreadsheet or in Binome360.
First step: export 12 months of transactions tonight and write down every recurring charge with its next renewal date.
Sources
All company information checked on 25 September 2026.
- Rocket Money Help Center, "How much does Rocket Money cost?" (free tier, sliding-scale Premium, 7-day trial, bill negotiation 35–60%): help.rocketmoney.com.
- Rocket Money, "Rocket Money Pricing: What's Free vs. What's Premium vs Premium+?", 19 January 2026 ($7–$14 Premium, $15 Premium+): rocketmoney.com.
- Rocket Money Help Center, "Does Rocket Money support international banks?": help.rocketmoney.com; "How do I cancel a subscription on Rocket Money?": help.rocketmoney.com; "Exporting transactions": help.rocketmoney.com; FAQ (Plaid): rocketmoney.com/faq.
- Monarch, pricing page and Help Center "Pricing": monarch.com/pricing, help.monarch.com; "Monarch in Canada": monarch.com/canada; "Tracking Recurring Expenses and Bills" and "Importing Transactions Manually": help.monarch.com.
- Copilot Money, pricing page and FAQ: copilot.money/pricing, copilot.money/faq.
- PocketGuard, Inc., US App Store listing: apps.apple.com/us/app/id949414211.
- Emma, "Track and cancel unwanted subscriptions": emma-app.com; "How much does Emma Plus/Pro/Ultimate cost?": help.emma-app.com.
- Apple Support, "Cancel a subscription from Apple": support.apple.com.
- Google Play Help, "Cancel, pause or change a subscription on Google Play": support.google.com.
Also available in Français.